Flax. Progress

Flax was my holiday knitting.
It was the only project I packed to take with me when I visited my parents in Athens.

image

While packing the yarn, I was already on the stripes, just a few rows before separating the body from the sleeves. If you remember, I had a third color in mind for the body.
I should have taken the dark grey yarn with me but I didn’t because I really liked the red/light grey contrast and also because I hadn’t use much yarn.

image

I thought the 4 skeins I had would be enough for the sweater. Even though I held two strains together, the yardage was generous, 400m or 437.44 yards per skein. Feeling stash-basting, I left the dark grey yarn behind.

And I run out of yarn!
I could have made the sleeves shorter but I love long sleeves.
The grey will be enough for the rows left but I have to buy me some red.

image

I’m not regretting sticking with this colorway. I enjoy changing my mind half way through the process because something seems better! Don’t you love that part about knitting? 🙂

image

My mum got me yesterday the extra red skein for Flax, 14 more skeins for F’s blanket, and some yummy yarn that I had ordered for my very special next project 🙂
She will mail them to me next week.

On F’s blanket, I’m on the 25th color or the 50th row or at the second repeat of the colors or at 19 inches or at 49cm or at 380g of used yarn!
I try, I really do!
image
On watching, we started the first season of Black Sails that F’s brother suggested.
F likes it so far, but he is a guy and there are pirates!
I’m on the blanket’s hook while watching so I can’t really have an opinion.

Joining Yarn Along and Frontier Dreams!

15 thoughts on “Flax. Progress

  1. oh wow, your Flax sweater is looking so amazing, I love the colours you choose- the red looks so good with that softer shade rather than a bright white! \Absolutely gorgeous.

  2. Love love love your Flax! What a cool color modification! The stripes are absolutely perfect! I am sure it will be a stunning FO!

  3. Flax is really perfect…love the color combo you decided on; sorry you lost ‘yarn-chicken’, but at least you were able to get more!!! AND!!! it’s almost done!

  4. My husband loves the flax I made him last year. I did it in a solid blue though but I LOVE the stripes. I might have to try this pattern again with pink stripes for our oldest daughter. This is fantastic.

Leave a Reply

