WIP: Marina’s Garter Cardi

This winter so far is the mildest I can remember.

Don’t get me wrong but I’m almost always cold.
Everybody at work usually wear just a t-shirt and I’m under 3 layers at least!

But this year felt like an endless spring.

Yesterday afternoon though there was heavy rain followed by hail.
After my yoga class, I wanted to curl in my chair, with a hot cup of tea and something wooly to knit.

My Reindeer is growing fast. Only the sleeves are left to be knitted.
But its yarn is cotton.

image

So I casted on for another Garter Cardi.

It is the same yarn, in the same color as my first Garter Cardi only smaller since it is for my best friend and koumpara(=I was something like a maid of honor in her wedding), Marina.

Last time I saw her, I was wearing my cardigan and she really liked it. I told her it was the warmest cardigan I have ever wore and let her try it on to see for herself. At that moment I secretly took her measurements! 😛

Marina is petite. She struggles to find clothes in her size.
And I have knit her only a scarf and a pair of socks.
It was time for a proper garment.

image

Three strands of yarn in garter stitch make a very warm texture.

Since this isn’t a pattern but mostly an improvisation, I was more than happy for keeping “notes” for the numbers the first time.

I casted on for 46 stitches for the back, that’s 10 stitches less than my cardigan.
I also need to make the body and the sleeves shorter.

I think it will be a great and unexpected gift for her since she doesn’t read my blog.

I think of her a lot lately because she recently found out she’s pregnant and I’m far away. I will miss seeing her belly grow.
But I will love to see her wearing the cardigan I knitted for her with a big belly or later with her baby in her arms.

Oh, it’s raining again!
Back to needles! 🙂

Joining Yarn Along and Frontier Dreams.

16 thoughts on “WIP: Marina’s Garter Cardi

  1. it’s been a really mild winter here, too! That is going to be a wonderful cardigan for your friend, I’m sure she will love it!

  2. Oh my gosh, you knit so fast! I’ve been scared to try knitting a sweater because I’m afraid that it would take me forever, but you’ve almost finished another cardigan in a little over a week!? I’m so jealous! XD

    Also, getting your friend to try on your cardigan so that you could gauge her size is very smooth, ha ha! I always worry about making surprise gifts for people because I’m scared they won’t fit.

    1. The cables on the Reindeer were very addictive thus the quick progress.
      Not to say that after F’s blanket everything seems to fly off my hands 😛
      I hope that the measurements I so smoothly took will do.
      You should definitely knit a sweater. Even if it takes ages to finish, the result is so rewarding!

      1. I’m actually thinking about making my very own Flax pullover. The one you made looked so nice, I’ve been thinking of making one for myself ever since, ha ha! XD

  3. Διαβάζω την ανάρτηση σου κ αι έξω βρέχει. Νομίζω πως έχω μπει ακριβώς στο κλίμα. Τα φιλιά μου…

  4. Oh, what a great friend you are! I am sure Marina will love her hand knit cardi, what a special gift! I am so so looking forward to Reindeer FO!!!! And I am the same about cold weather 🙂

Leave a Reply

