32!!

Yesterday I turned 32 years old!

image

(Yes, there is a tiara on my head! I’m the queen on my birthday!)

As long as I remember myself, I was always nervous about getting older. Mostly about doing things so that I won’t regret not doing them when I’m older. Does it make sense? 

The last year I have grown as a person. I try to live more in the moment, to be grateful, to smile every single day, to have only positive thoughts, when something bad happens to see it as a lesson and not to get upset for the little things.

The change was noticeable and I dare to admit that I’m happy!

So this year, it felt ok that time passed. It felt… normal! 🙂

Knitting has helped me find happiness more than anything.
It kept me sane, peaceful and calm. It took away my worries, problems and bright up my dark moments.

No wonder why I treated myself with yarn gifts 😀

I wanted to knit with more luxurious yarns forever but the yarn stores I’ve visited only had wool that I found itchy.
I thought about ordering online but I’m not comfortable buying yarn without touching it.
Couldn’t help also drooling over your merino projects.

About two weeks ago, I accidently found out the store Plectorium, here in Greece, with all those yummy yarns.
I announced F that he didn’t need to worry about what he’ll get me for my birthday! I knew what I needed!

I chose three skeins of yarn just to try them.
I didn’t want to get a sweaters amount and not like the feel.
I got:

image

One skein of Malabrigo Silky Merino in the Lluvia colorway.
It is a dream! It will make me the softest cowl ever!

image

I hand winded it on my thumb making a centre-pulled ball.
I saw how on Little Bobbins podcast. Thanks Dani!

image

One skein of Malabrigo Lace in the Cadmium colorway that lighted up my day!
I don’t wear shawls but I think I’ll start!
Such a bright color will be perfect for cloudy days.

image

And a self striping sock yarn!
Opal Best Friends collection.

image

I hope the finished sock will look that.
I also ordered aluminum DPN in size 2,5mm and 2,25mm hoping that I won’t break them knitting tight.

Oh, I don’t know which one will be the next to cast on….
I’m still searching for patterns.
If you want to suggest any one-skein pattern, I’ll be thrilled!

Thank you all for remembering and wishing for my birthday!

16 thoughts on “32!!

  1. Yay! I am happy you had a fabulous day!!! You know I read somewhere a phrase that stuck in my head and that took away all the growing up anxiety – “It is amazing to have a chance to grow old, not everybody is that lucky”.

    Your yarn looks amazing!! Life is too short to knit with bad yarn, isn’t it 🙂 I am sure you will turn these skeins into something amazing!

  2. Happy birthday! Hope you had a great day! 😀
    I totally understand what you’re saying about getting older, except I was the opposite way. When I was younger, I didn’t care about aging, but now it’s like the older I get, the more that it bothers me, ha ha! I have to try really hard to think about it less. ^^’

    Ooh, that yarn you picked is beautiful! I especially love the colors in the first one you posted. It looks so lovely~ ❤

  3. happy birthday!! You look so wonderful, and absolutely you deserve a tiara on your birthday. 🙂

  4. Sorry to be a little late, but a very happy birthday to you 🙂 What better presents than yarn! I have used the Opal sock yarn a few times now and I love it. They are my favourite socks. Have a wonderful Easter weekend. xx

  5. Χρόνια πολλά Zeta! I hope you had a wonderful time. I love the yarn, especially the Malabrigo Lace – what a perfect colour for summer. I can’t wait to see what you make with it!

Leave a Reply

