FO: For Maria

You know when you just scroll around Pinterest and you see something that makes you drool over your screen?

Yeah, you do! 🙂

When I saw this pin I couldn’t get it off my mind.
I heard it whispering: “Knit me! Knit me for Maria!”

image

The original pattern is a paid one.
Sadly, I couldn’t buy it because I don’t have a bank account that allows internet purchases (it’s hard, believe me!) so I improvised.

Even though I didn’t knit an actual Golden Wheat Cardigan, I want to thank the designer for the inspiration.

image

I tried to have the purl side as the right side but this yarn didn’t look that good. It’s an acrilic fingering weight yarn which I held two strains together. It’s the same yarn I used for my Flax in a different colorway. 

I think you are probably not the biggest fan of acrylics but I find it extremely durable and easy to wash since you can just throw it in the washing machine, that I can forsee its scratchiness (is that a word?).
For someone that doesn’t know how to treat hand knitted items is great.
As is for lazy people like me!

image

The buttons weren’t easy to found.
Made of ivory. So beautiful and fragile, like Maria!

image

I know Maria since university.
She’s more like family to me.
Always there for me, as I am for her.
I’m so grateful to have her in my life.

I wanted to knit her something special and I’m sure that this cardigan will be her favorite. It’s just so Maria’s taste.

image

It’s such a warm cardigan that taking those photos really made me sweat!

image

As you can tell the photoshoot happened in F’s garage.
The photographer was my F.
Thank you my love ♡

image

He has improved so much although he couldn’t capture the side faux seam while I was wearing the cardigan.
Such a pretty, little detail.

image

I was on a deadline to finish it because Maria was supposed to visit me last week for Easter but unfortunately she couldn’t.
The cardigan will have to be sent to her soon even though the weather is getting hotter every day and she will not wear her new cardigan for months.

Do you think it is possible to have a couple of cold days?
In May? In Greece? Who am I kidding?!
A knitter can always wish for cold weather, right?
😉

Joining Frontier Dreams and Yarn Along.

22 thoughts on “FO: For Maria

  1. I’m in Colorado and it snowed last week, but it seems like it might now cooperate and get warmer. At the end of the month I will be in the Adirondack Mountains in Upstate New York to see my daughter graduate from college in Vermont. It’ll be cold enough for a fire in May and June! But I envy you being in Greece. Your sweater is so nice and sometimes acrylic comes in handy, I’m also doing a sweater up in it and even though it’s acrylic- it’s so soft and you’re right- it’ll wash. My blog today- http://lovelyyarnescapes.blogspot.com/2016/05/eclectic-thoughts-keeping-on.html

    1. I’m so jealous of your winter weather! Here today it was cloudy but still very hot.
      I use acrilic a lot, mostly because it is easier to find here. Lately, cause of the weather, I’m knitting more in cotton. I can wear cotton for more months.
      I hope you have a great time in your daughter’s graduation.

  2. Wow – you made that without a pattern? That’s so impressive! I really like the collar in that you can wear it different ways. Your friend it very lucky to receive this lovely present!

  3. So gorgeous! Kudos to you for improvising! You are a wonderful friend! I also wanted to tell you that if you need something purchased you can ask me, I’ll be glad to help.

  4. Φανταστικό Ζετάκι μου!! Θα το λατρέψει η καλή σου φίλη να σαι σίγουρη!!! Υπέροχο το μπλε και τα κουμπάκια που επέλεξες!! Το κάνεις να φαίνεται τόσο εύκολο κάθε φορά που δημιουργείς τα πλεχτά σου!!!
    Γεια στα χέρια σου!! 🙂
    Φιλάκια ολόγλυκα!!

  5. what a beautiful blue sweater! Love the faux seams, and the buttons. You did a wonderful job, your friend will love it!

Leave a Reply

